指示

2015 进行中

指示

“摄影就是挪用所摄的东西 ”- 苏珊•桑塔格

这是一个后续。由我的系列‘后浪推前浪’,我一直以一种非常脆弱和迂迴的方式,构思一个想法。我重新了解我一直敬佩的几位艺术家的作品,特别是小野洋子和索尔•莱维特,我一直在思考作為一个艺术家应该怎样做作品,还有如何学习。

我察觉我也像许多其他人一样学习。透过模仿,实验,犯错,尝试可能或不可能的任务或偶尔成功的经验,所以某程度上,我是持续地复製。

我也渐渐发现其中一种学习方式是教学。

我偶尔会為有兴趣提升个人愿景或希望拍摄方向更清晰的人举办工作坊。作為其中一分子,我向参与者给了一系列的任务和练习,以帮助他们思考他们在做什麼,如何完成他们所做的工作以及為什麼他们要做这些事。有些是技术性的,其他的更像是思考练习。

从这些练习,我扩宽他们的思考,试图质疑和邀请他们探索一些我作為一个艺术家所感兴趣的各样事情。好像是复製,语言和翻译的不精确性,以及一如既往,有关机会和随机的想法。我也选择了一系列复製或传播这些作品的方法。从在香港无处不在的亚克力标牌到凸版卡。打字卡,地毯,数码字到语音生成器和二进制代码。谁知道还有什麼?可能纹身也可以。

这裡是其中创作中的一部分。

2015 进行中

Instruction

2015 Ongoing

Instruction

“To photograph is to appropriate the thing photographed” Susan Sontag.

As a follow on, in a very tenuous and roundabout way, to my series From the Shoulders of Giants I have been playing with an idea. Having reacquainted myself with the work of several artists who I have always admired, and most particularly Yoko Ono and Sol LeWitt, I have been thinking more on how as an artist I make work, but also how I learn.

I suspect I learn like many others do. By imitation, by experimentation, by making mistakes, by doing the possibile, trying the impossible, by making more mistakes and occasionally being successful. So in a way I continue to make copies.

I have also discovered over time that one way to learn is teach.

I occasionally run a workshop for people who are interested in refining their personal vision and clarifying the direction that they want to take their photographic practice. As part of this I assign a range of tasks and exercises to participants to help them think about what, how and why they are doing what they do. Some are technical, others more along the lines of thinking exercises.

From developing these exercises for my students I have expanded them in an attempt to question and explore a wide range of things that interest me as an artist. Things like copying, the imprecise nature of language and translation, and, as always, ideas around chance and randomness. I have also chosen a range of methods for reproducing or conveying these works. From Hong Kong's ubiquitous acrylic sign boards to letterpress cards. Typewritten note cards, rugs, machine text to voice generators and binary code. Who knows what else, tattoos might also be available to those who wish.

Here is part of this work in progress.

2015 Ongoing