垃圾邮件

垃圾邮件

垃圾邮件无处不在,它是我们生活的重要组成部分。我们勉强接受了它作为现今超级互联世界的代 价。垃圾邮件像是在畅通无阻的通信系统里,润滑剂中的砂砾。

垃圾邮件结合了新和旧,它跨越了信息系统和消耗了大量的信息空间,但它仍需要非常传统的模拟 输入。令人惊讶的是,它是一种利用了多元和分层劳动系统的产品。

它涉及了各种形式的人手工序,其中一部分我把它比如为农业 —— 一场增长和破坏力量之间的斗 争。垃圾邮件的运作需要电脑农场的配合,经已编写好的软件(像是种子)会被分散到数字荒野, 以便在欢迎电脑的肥沃土壤中扎根。然后这些种子会尽量在不引起人们的注意的情况下发芽。这些 都是垃圾邮件发送者用来邮寄邮件的“僵尸网络感染网络”。你的电脑现在可能正被用来发送饮食 补充剂广告。病毒软件的制作者则可以被视作从一排排农作物中除去杂草的人,他们就好像孟山都 公司里的员工和农民,只是换了一个奇怪的场景。

然后是收割机,它们收集电子邮件地址,然后把收获在市场上进行交易和交换。最后是垃圾邮件发 送者 - 是他们创造了产品,然后流入我们的世界。这个过程是互相联系的,在其结构中顺理成章地 发生。
 
所以在这件作品,我会按照类似的方式进行种植,和查看市场(例如淘宝采购图纸)以协助这件作 品得以完成。我还利用了我的垃圾邮件文件夹里的原材料,并通过面书进行修改,塑造和操作它成 为一个新的形态,给予了它一个新的生命。

我在思考在数位化的生活中(例如:日常生活中小巧便携的超级电脑),我们是怎样消费的,并将其 融入到此作品当中。其他部分都经已在进行中。由于我其中一部分的兴趣是在平凡生活中寻找美, 我会继续在科技,绘画,LED指示牌,口语词汇和更多范畴里寻找它。

Spam

Spam

Spam is ubiquitous. It is part and parcel of our lives. We accept it, somewhat grudgingly, as a cost of our modern super interconnected world. Spam is, to use an analogy, the grit in the grease of our communication machines lubrication system.

Spam combines the old and new. It spirals across information systems. It consumes huge amounts of digital space. But still requires very traditional analog inputs. It, somewhat surprisingly, is a product that utilises diversified and stratified labour systems.

Various forms of what can be considered hand work are involved. Part of it I liken to agriculture. A battle between forces of growth and destruction. Let me explain. Spam requires farms of computers. Software has to be written and scattered to the digital wilderness (like seeds) to take root in the fertile soil of welcoming computers. These seeds germinate and try not to draw attention to themselves. These are the “bot infected networks” that spammers use to mail out their messages. Your computer could be sending advertisements for diet supplements right now. Against them are the people who could be likened to those who weed the unwanted plants from the rows of crops. The people who make anti spam and anti bot/virus software. The Monsanto’s and farm labourers of this strange world. Maybe.

Then there are the harvesters, they gather email addresses. Their harvest is then traded and barterd in markets. And finally, the spammers. The people who create the product which flows out into our world. The process is a mixture of interlinked, almost organic in its structure, interactions.

So for this project I have followed a similar path and farmed or looked into the market place (Taobao sourced drawings for example) for assistance with parts of the work. I have also taken the raw material that was provided me by my spam folder and modified, molded and manipulated it into a new form via Facebook. Which gave it one life.

There are others. I have considered how we consume our digital life, (these days, small portable supercomputers), and incorporated this into the work. Other works are planned or underway. As part of my interest in the beauty of the mundane I am looking at various ways of representing the technology, such as paintings, led signs, spoken word and more.