难以想像的童年回忆

难以想像的童年回忆

......难以想像的童年回忆是一个不断发展的长期作品,探索童年记忆和跨文化的经历。名义上我把此 作品设定在1950年代和1960年代的香港—这个我现在称之为家的地方。

这个概念停留在我脑海已有一段时间,它与早期名为难以想起的童年回忆— 一个历时数年的艺术计 划有着直接的概念联系。该作品着眼于我们应如何思考“真实”和“强加”的记忆。它还触及了“ 文化记忆”的概念。

回忆是有趣的事情,同时亦具争议性。我相信没有人能像其他人一样,对事情有着同样的记忆。同 样,我们永远不可能有两次相同的记忆,因为记忆本身这个行为,已能改变原有的记忆。若将记忆 与他人的进行比较,更可添加或删除细节。大学的心理学系对此有着不同的研究和实验。
作为一个天生好奇的人,我经常想知道在不同的文化中成长是怎样的。小时候的我手不释卷,我被 送到了与新西兰郊区生活截然不同的时间,地点和文化。当我在香港开始新生活时,我越来越了解 它的文化,人民和近代历史。随着时间的过去,我思考和研究很多,经过几次失败的尝试后,我开 始看到现在对我来说一些很明显的东西 — 一些我在当地二手店找到的丢弃旧照片和家庭相册。

我也一直在“收藏”,最初是以一种非常松散和随意的方式进行,然后有着更明确的目的,就是收 集人们在香港童年的回忆。另外,我亦回想自己(不在香港)的童年以及我对其他地方和人们的各 种理解,同时混合对不是来自香港的人的想像。有趣的是不同地方的童年经历有着强烈的相似性, 它并不只属于一个地方或一个人。

这件作品分为两部分:找回来的旧相片的复制品,和还在设计的声音作品。这件声音作品将由多段 与香港有关的声带组成,并以不同语言表达。每一段声带会由一个独立的扬声器播出,最后声带会 在同一空间里互相重叠。声音作品将使观众有机会从压倒性的记忆中,转移专注某一段声带上。观 众只要把耳朵靠近扬声器,便会大概明白声带中讲述的记忆。

“记忆”是从我收集所得中所选出来的。它们随机分配给不同照片,并由书法家复制到图片上。
这些记忆是真实与想像的融合。

Poorly Imagined Childhood

Poorly Imagined Childhood

… a poorly imagined childhood is an evolving long term project that explores childhood memories and experience across cultures. I have nominally centered it in 1950’s and 1960’s Hong Kong. This is the place I now call my home.

This project has been sitting in the back of my mind for quite some time. It has a direct conceptual link to an earlier project called … a poorly remembered childhood which lasted for several years. That project looked at what we could consider “real” and “imposed” memories. It also touched on the concept of “Cultural Memory”.

Memories are interesting things, and contentious. No one I believe will ever have the same memory of an event as another person. It can also be argued that we may never have the same memory twice, as the simple act of remembering can alter a memory. And comparing memories with others can add or remove detail. Psychology departments at universities are full of studies and experiments about this.

As someone who is curious by nature I have often wondered what it might have been like to grow up in a different culture. As I child I read with some ferocity. I was transported to lands, times, places and cultures that were so different to my New Zealand suburban life. When I made a new life in Hong Kong I started to learn more about its culture, its people and its recent history. Over time (I tend to think and research a lot), and after several rejected and abandoned avenues of approach, I began to look at what now seems so obvious to me, the discarded photographs and family albums I was finding in local second hand stores and in recycle shops.

I had also been “collecting”, initially in a very loose and haphazard way, then with a more defined purpose, people’s memories of their childhood in Hong Kong. Also, thinking back to my own (non Hong Kong) childhood and my understanding of other places and people filtered through a variety of sources, I have also mixed into this the imaginations of others not from here. What is interesting is the strong similarities in childhood experience that don’t fit just one place or one people. There is a universality.

The work is divided into two parts. Reproductions from my archive of found family photographs and a soundwork currently in the process of being designed. This work will consist of a multitude of voices in several languages related to Hong Kong. Each voice will be an individual account whilst building up a cacophonic cloud of voices/memories/fictive accounts. The soundwork will allow the “viewer” an opportunity to move from the overwhelming pressure of memories to the ability to concentrate on individual accounts and experiences by placing their ear close to an individual speaker and allowing that memory to, briefly, be understood with some clarity.

“Memories” were chosen from those collected. They are assigned by a mixture of chance and instinct to individual images and copied onto the images by calligraphers.

These memories are an amalgamation of real and imagined.