指令

指令

「拍摄就是挪用被拍摄的东西。」-苏珊•桑塔格
「告诉别人如何创作是原始的挪用形式。」- 卜以思

自从我留意到小野洋子和索尔•勒维特的作品,我便受到他们如何在创作上运用指令所启发。特别是以这种简洁有力的手法作为创作的开首,随着不同人的解读和制作,作品便能以不同的形式出现。
在这几年我一直思考这个问题,特别是在不久前我为那些希望在摄影中改进和厘清个人愿景和方向 的人举办了一个工作坊。在工作坊的其中一个环节,我分配了一系列任务和练习,以鼓励参与者思 考他们做了什么,如何以及为什么他们在做手头上的事。有些任务是技术性的,有些则是抽象的思 维练习。整个工作坊都很有趣,令我回想起其中一个很好的学习方法就是教学。

这让我不断思考着。

在预备创作练习的过程中,小野洋子和索尔•勒维特经常令我反思。
然后当我为学生编制一系列练习后,我便一直伸延那些练习,试图质疑和探索一些我作为艺术家感兴趣的事物,例如:复制作为建立创作风格和技巧过程的一部分;语言和翻译的不确定性以及我经常思考到有关机会和随机性的一些想法。

目前我正创作一系列重现和传播这些作品的方法,包括利用在香港街头无处不在的亚克力标牌,凸 版印刷,记事卡,地毯,文字转语音程式和二进制代码。谁知还有什么其他可能性,如果有人希望 以纹身呈现,也可以是其中一个选择。

Instructions

Instructions

“To photograph is to appropriate the thing photographed” Susan Sontag.

“To tell someone how to make art is the first form of appropriation” David Boyce.

I have, since I first became aware of them, been taken with the work of Yoko Ono and Sol LeWitt. Particularly their use of “instructions”. I have been drawn to the way this begins as simplicity and minimal gestures. Coupled with this is the potential for the work to take on multiple forms depending on the way the work is interpreted and produced by different people. Making art can be a lonely experience, making something in the knowledge it may be interacted with in a multitude of ways can be enticing and gratifying.

I have been thinking on this particular process a lot over the last few years, particularly as a while back I ran a workshop for people who wanted to refine and clarify their personal vision and direction in their photographic practice. As part of the workshop I assigned a range of tasks and exercises to help encourage the participants to think about what, how and why they were doing what they do. Some tasks were technical, others more abstract, thinking exercises. The workshop was fun, and I was reminded that a great way to learn is to teach.

Now, this got me thinking.

In creating the exercises I found myself reflecting on the work of both Yoko Ono and Sol LeWitt.

And then after developing a range of exercises for my students I then began to expand them in an attempt to question and explore some of things that interest me as an artist. Things like copying as a waypoint in developing your style and learning technique, the imprecise nature of language and translation, and, as always with me, ideas around chance and randomness.

I am currently working on a range of methods for reproducing or conveying these works. From Hong Kong’s ubiquitous acrylic sign boards to letterpress work, typewritten note cards, rugs, machine text to voice generators and binary code. Who knows what else, tattoos might also be available to those who wish.