大排筵席

大排筵席

2014年7月的某一个星期日,当我正前往我的工作室时,我收到姐姐的电话,我的母亲去世了。这 多年来,我已有心里准备这一刻会来临,即使知道她是靠借来的时间生存,对我来说也是一种冲 击。
我对母亲的记忆和所有记忆一样,集合各样的经历和情感,当中可能有些是不太可靠的记忆,但它 们似乎主要围绕两件事:她曾经对我说过的话和食物。

我母亲的生活方式对她这一代来说,都是很典型。她留在家里“照顾家庭”。她煮食,清洁,打理 家头细务和用方法说服我们去完成我们不想做的事。我的母亲几乎100%负责喂饱我们。我们吃的菜色都是当时人们常吃的,例如,肉,薯仔和两款“蔬菜”:维吉麦和蕃茄(维吉麦是一种深棕色的澳洲食物酱,由酿酒业的副产品酵母抽提物经加工而得到,颜色棕黑的浓稠膏状食品。)或者是学校午餐时吃的维吉麦芝士三文治。啊,还有烘焙!对我来说,我母亲是世界冠军级的烘焙师,她 擅长的有英式松饼,热香饼,水果蛋糕,饼干,还有更多。
当我重新发现她的食谱,这加强了我对她所煮的食物的记忆。味道和气味如洪水般涌回来。阅读它 们也让我回想我母亲的个性,特别是她布局的方式和她用过的草书。风格的一致性显示出她对秩序 和整洁的要求和期望。

餐桌的文化的重要性在艺术,文学和电影中以各式各样的形式呈现,并且可以作为各种解读的隐 喻。餐桌是交流,学习和会面的地方,同时也集合了悲伤,欢乐和理念。它也可以代表力量,坚固 性,和毫无疑问,它通常是家庭生活的基石。它代表了第二波女权主义理论,并经常被提及。餐桌 可以表示为丰盛,或贫穷或所有介乎两者之间的东西。有趣的是,从历史意义上,这是近代西方的 观点。
正如所有母亲一样,我的母亲会对我说鼓励,责骂和教导的话,以及表达她的快乐和不愉快。我的 母亲出生于1939年12月(比我父亲迟几年前),在二战初期和“大萧条”结束时。这些事件的持续 影响,虽然在她能完全理解之前经已结束,将是她(和我父亲的)性格的重要组成部分。在某种程 度上,这些影响会流向我们——她的孩子们。父母鼓励我们去实现理想,但不能过于突出。我们不 会自夸,也不会为我们的所作所为感到骄傲。时刻保持安全,小心,不冒险,避免麻烦和尴尬,和 不要引起别人对自己的注意,这几点都是非常重要。她会对我说的说像洪水般涌现。

我的母亲从来都不是一个混乱的人,她不是一个会收藏东西的人。她擅长以一种极简的生活方式生 活,我认为像她这一代人一样,她有两种选择,精简或囤积。随着年龄的增长和身体虚弱,她开始 将事情交给我们。其中一件她送给我的,是一套英国普尔晚餐餐具,我相信这是她和父亲的结婚礼 物。这套餐具只会在非常特别的场合使用。它小心翼翼地从新西兰送到香港。我小心打开包装,放 在柜子里,打算在我自己的特别场合时使用。一天晚上,我到家后发现地板上铺满了破碎的普尔盘 子,杯子,碗和碟子。它们幸存了五十七年,当中经历过地震,房屋拆迁和其他活动,但无法从宜 家家俬的一个手工差劣的橱柜中存活过来。

在经过一番惊愕和自我指责之后,我决定要对残骸做点什么。我前阵子认识到日本金继的概念,当 中以美摆脱损坏的概念中吸引了我。当我越想着损坏这件时,我就越发现自己在思考记忆和破碎的 本质。经过一番思考后,我决定用金箔给损毁的边缘镀金。我把它看作是对许多事物的反思 —— 我与母亲的关系,记忆的不完美以及在破碎和受损中寻找美的能力。

随着我逐渐完成作品,我开始思考如何展示它。我的想法不断回到桌面上。不知何故,我想把我母 亲曾对我说的话包括在内。最初我考虑过以某种方式将这些放在碎片上,但很快就放弃了。当我思 量过我家人的互动后,我决定以手工刺绣把它们绣在桌布的边缘。
关于这张桌子,我想提及一些对我母亲记忆很重要的东西。桌腿代表了她在我回忆里很重要的几方 面,也代表了她在童年时代扮演的角色。

我选择了食物,衣服,身体形态和在家庭以外,一些代表她生活的一些东西。为此我选了这些物 件:毛衣针——我的母亲会为我们针织球衣,围巾,袜子,手套和地毯等。针织毛衣的声音是背景 的一部分;擀面杖——烘烤是免费的,从商店购买蛋糕和饼干是浪费金钱。从我小时候起,我母亲 总是用两条编结的马尾辫穿着她的头发,直到我十几岁时,她才将头发缩短,所以头发辫子会是其 中一件物件。母亲在组织家庭之前一直是一名速记打字员,所以打字机上的挡杆会是第四条腿。有 时她会参加一些工作,例如为志愿和当地团体做一些转录的工作。快速敲击键盘的声音仍然会让我 会心微笑。这是一个如此美妙的打击乐声。

母亲在我的记忆中留下了许多东西,有图像,声音,文字,感受和品味。而现在可能会在你的记忆 中。

Filling the Tins

Filling the Tins

I was heading to my studio one Sunday in July 2014 when I received a call from my sister. My mother had died. This was a moment I knew had been coming for many years, but was still, even with the knowledge that she was living on borrowed time, a shock.

My memories of my mother are, like all memories, a conglomeration of diverse experiences and emotions, and probably somewhat unreliable. They seem to mainly revolve around two things, what she used to say to me, and food. My mother’s life was in most ways fairly typical for her generation, she stayed at home and “looked after the house”. She cooked, cleaned, organised, encouraged and cajolled. My mother was pretty much 100% responsible for feeding us. The meals were very much of their time, meat, potato and two “veg”. Vegemite and tomato or vegemite and cheese sandwiches for school lunches. But the baking. Oh, the baking. In my mind my mother was the world champion baker. Scones, pikelets, fruit cakes, biscuits, the list goes on.

The memories of food were reinforced by the rediscovery of her recipe books. Tastes and smells came flooding back. Reading them also gave me a glimpse into my mother’s personality, particularly the way they are laid out and the cursive script she used. Their consistency of style gave a pointer to her need for, and expectation of, order and tidiness.

The dining table’s cultural importance is represented in many and varied forms throughout art, literature and moving image, and can be used as a metaphor with a diverse range of readings. It is a place for meeting, for communication, for learning, for grief, for joy among many other ideals. It can also represent power, solidity, and without question it is often the cornerstone of domesticity. It is heavily represented and referred to in second wave feminist theory. A table can be a representation of abundance, or penury and everything in between. Interestingly it is also, in an historical sense, a recent and somewhat western thing.

My mother, as all mothers do, said things to me to encourage, scold, educate, express her pleasure, or displeasure, and all the other things that mothers do. My mother was born in December 1939 (my father a few years earlier) in the early days of WWII and at the end of the “Great Depression”. The ongoing impact of both of these events, even though they were over before she could comprehend them fully, would be a major part of the formation of her (and my father’s) character. They would, to an extent, flow on to us, her children. We were encouraged to achieve, but to not to an extent that we would stand out. We weren’t to be boastful, or overly proud of what we did. Playing it safe, being careful, not taking risks, staying out of trouble and not being an embarrassment or drawing attention to ourselves were important. The memories of what she would say flood back.

My mother was never one for clutter. She wasn’t a person who kept everything. She was good at a form of minimal living, I think like many of her generation she had two options, streamline or hoard. As she got older and more frail she began to pass things to us, her children. One of the things I was gifted was a Poole of England dinner set that her and my father had been given, I believe, as a wedding gift. This dinner set was used only on very special occasions. Packed with care it was dispatched from New Zealand to Hong Kong. Unpacked with care it was placed in a cupboard to be used for my own special occasions. One evening I arrived home to find the floor covered with smashed pieces of Poole plates, cups, bowls and saucers. After surviving some 57 years of children, earthquakes, house shifts and other events it didn’t survive a poorly made cupboard from Ikea.

After some consternation and self recrimination I decided I should do something with the wreckage. I had learned about the Japanese concept of Kintsugi some time ago, and the concept of making beauty out of damage was something that I was attracted to. The more I thought on the damage the more I found myself thinking about memories and their fractured nature. After some thought I decided to gild the damage edges with gold leaf. I looked at it as a reflection on many things, my damaged and fractious relationship with my mother, the way memory is imperfect and the ability to find beauty in the broken and damaged.

As the project developed I began to think about how to display it. My thoughts kept coming back to a table. I wanted to, somehow, include the things I remember my mother saying to me. Initially I considered somehow placing these on the broken pieces, but that was soon abandoned. Thinking more about my family dynamics I decided to have them hand embroidered into the edges of a tablecloth.

With the table I want to make reference to things that were important to my memories of my mother. To do this the table legs represent facets of her that are important to my recollections, and also to represent her role in my childhood. I have chosen four aspects, food, clothing, a physical form and a representation of an external life that wasn’t simply related to domesticity. For this I have settled on the following. Knitting needles, my mother knitted jerseys, scarves, socks, gloves and rugs among other things. The click, click, click of knitting needles was often part of the background. A rolling pin, baking was a given, money wasn’t wasted on buying cakes and biscuits from shops. From when I was a child my mother always wore her hair in two plaited ponytails. It wasn’t until I was in my teens that she cut her hair shorter so a hair braid is referenced. My mother had been a shorthand typist before she started a family, so the striker bars from a typewriter make the forth leg. On occasion she would take in some work, or volunteer to transcribe work for local groups. The sound of rapid fire typewriter keys hammering away still brings me a smile. It’s such a wonderful percussive sound.

My mother remains in my memories as many things, images, sounds, words, feelings and tastes.

And now maybe in yours.