令人大跌眼鏡的藝術

二月至三月 2011

令人大跌眼鏡的藝術

這些作品主要是關於期望了一段時間後所經曆的失望和沮喪。這是出於我對文化記憶概念的興趣和這如何改變我們觀察事物的方式和對觀看體驗的期望。

預期回憶是當我談論這個作品時經常使用的一個短語。 當我們看到在歷史和文化層面上重要事情的時候,我想強調失望常常與奇妙的感覺形成對比。 例如以被藝術壓倒的經驗爲例, 有一種稱為“司湯達綜合症”的疾病,或“佛羅倫薩綜合症”,其描述了一些人被偉大藝術所壓倒的經驗。 症狀包括心跳加速,眩暈,在某些情況下可能會産生幻覺。

那麼反過來說,“巴黎綜合症”就是一個例子,其中一個例子被經常報道的是一名日本遊客到訪的巴黎的精神狀況。 它被認為是由一些事情所引起,例如明白當地文化和規範的困難。另一個主流認同的原因是該名遊客對巴黎過分理想化,以及人們梳理理想與現實的困難。

今天,隨著技術的普及,物件和地方的圖片都變得隨手可得,我們會有不一樣的期望嗎?以及我們的記憶又會怎樣形成和持續發展呢?

二月至三月 2011

The disconsolation of art

February - March 2011

The disconsolation of art

These works are primarily about the experience of disconsolation and disappointment after an extended period of expectation. They have grown out of an interest in the concept of cultural memory and how this changes the way that we view things and our expectations of the viewing experience.

Expected memories is a phrase that I often use when I talk about this body of work. I want to highlight the disappointment that often contrasts with the sense of wonder when we see things that we know are important on a historical and cultural level. The experience of being overpowered by art for example. There is a disorder known as the “Stendhal Syndrome”, or the, “Florence Syndrome”, which describes the experience some people have of being overwhelmed by great art. Symptoms that include a racing heart, dizziness, and, in some cases, hallucinations.

Then, conversely, there is the example of “Paris Syndrome” a mental conditions that is reported among, predominantly, Japanese tourists visiting, of course, Paris. It is believed to be caused by a number of things, such as problems with translating cultural experiences and norms. Among the believed cause is also an idealised expectation of Paris, and the difficulty that people have in reconciling the ideal with the reality.

Today, with increasing access to technology, and the almost universal access to images of places and objects, what is going to happen to our expectations, and also, the formation and ongoing development of our memories?

All images are 6 x 4.5 cm c type hand printed contact prints.

February - March 2011