短篇故事

十月至十一月,2010

短篇故事

“所有照片都提醒我們忘記了什麽。 在這一點上 - 就像在其他方面一樣 - 它們與繪畫相反。 繪畫記錄了畫家記得的。 因爲我們每個人都忘記了不同的東西,一幅照片比一幅畫可能會根據誰在看它而改變其意義。”《約定》, “他能跑多快”,約翰·伯格

我有很多作品是關于將日常事抽象化。 我喜歡在平凡和容易被忽略的事物中尋找美感。 隨機而又沒辦法控制的事同時深深吸引著我。這些作品由已經發展了一段時間的概念和計劃演變過來。

我其中一個興趣是語言,特別是當我住在一個城市,我的母語不是主要用來溝通的語言,所以,我對如何談論語言感濃厚興趣。 語言可以描述為“美麗,醜陋,憤怒,侵略性,肌肉,柔軟,漂亮”等等。 這些相同的詞語可以用來描述物件,藝術作品和人物。 我也對視覺語言感興趣 - 圖像講故事和傳達時間的能力。 因此,我所展示的作品的代名詞爲“短篇故事”。

除了最近重讀約翰•伯格(John Berger)的著作“觀看的方式”之外,另一個啓發我做這些作品的是中國書法,其重點是和諧的美學,無論是書寫文字還是“展現的方法”。 這令我發展出一系列的作品,其敘事方法是不需要用肉眼觀看(而又抽象的),但又不像新聞攝影那樣描繪現實。觀衆會自行看見當中的轉化。 如伯格所指出,我只是衆多個作者中,其中一個嘗試講故事的人。

十月至十一月,2010

Short Stories

October - November 2010

Short Stories

“All photographs are there to remind us of what we forget. In this -- as in other ways -- they are the opposite of paintings. Paintings record what the painter remembers. Because each one of us forgets different things, a photo more than a painting may change its meaning according to who is looking at it.” John Berger, Keeping a Rendezvous, "How Fast Does It Go?", 1992

A lot of my work is about abstracting the everyday. I like to find beauty in the mundane and overlooked. I am also drawn to the chance and random actions I have limited control over. These works have evolved from several ideas and projects that I have been working on for some time.

One of my interests is language, especially as I live in a city where my native tongue is not the main language spoken. So, the language of language, if you can excuse the tortuous expression, attracts my attention. Language can be described as “beautiful, ugly, angry, aggressive, muscular, soft, pretty” among other things. These same words can be used to describe objects, art works and people. I am also interested in visual language - the ability of images to tell stories and convey the passage of time. Hence, the alternative name for the works I am showing is “Short Stories”.

In addition to my recent re-reading of John Berger’s seminal text, “Ways of Seeing”, another inspiration for these works is Chinese calligraphy, with its emphasis on aesthetic harmony, both in the written words and in the “presentation”. This has lead me to develop a body of work as a means of telling (an abstracted) story that is not to be viewed, or thought of, as photojournalism.

What evolved is what you see here. An attempt to tell a story, but one that I, as Berger points out, am only partly the author.

October - November 2010