不確定的童年回憶

展示於不同畫廊 2009 - 2010

不確定的童年回憶

這張照片一直與記憶有關。記憶塑造身份;身份構成記憶,地方與記憶的關系也是如此。

我在基督城出生,長大,但現在主要在中國生活。每次回到基督城,我都會到於童年時我記得去過的地方。特別是那些擁有重要回憶的地方,或是在童年時對我很重要的地方。我“記得”我拍攝的這些地方,有些記得很清楚的,例如是別人的感覺或類似的聯想; 野餐,散步,笑,哭泣,迷失,開心,悲傷。

作為歷史系的畢業生,我了解到沒有一段歷史必然是真的(或者相反地,錯的)。 這些都是我們如何過濾,解釋和編輯的證據。 所以,我的記憶,像歷史一樣,柔軟而細膩,又容易改變。 我們忘記,想起又同時創造著我們的回憶。 它們都是不同的。
我記得譬如簡單得像運動場或公園的這些地方,抑或是學校,教堂和紀念碑。 隨著時間流逝,這些地方漸漸改變,而我對它們的記憶,或是周遭所發生過的事件,變得越來越不可靠。 當我一直發展這個系列時,我有時覺得我可以記住別人記住的東西,並忘記別人記得的事情。但是當我越來越意識到我的文化和成長對記憶的影響,我的歸屬感仍然存在。

可能會有一段時間再沒有需要說甚麽的,或者我的記憶會慢慢消失。 直到那時,我將繼續嘗試記住,重新到訪並記錄我童年時的回憶。 或者是我對他們的回憶。

所有圖像均為6 x 4.5 cm C型手印接觸式打印相片。

展示於不同畫廊 2009 - 2010

...a poorly remembered childhood

Various Galleries 2009 - 2010

...a poorly remembered childhood

The photograph has long been associated with memory. Memory shapes identity and identity shapes memory, as does place.

I was born, and grew up, in Christchurch, but now live, predominantly, in China. Each time I return to Christchurch I seek out the places that I remember from my childhood. Particularly the places that hold significant memories, or are places where something important in my childhood occurred. I "remember" all these places that I have photographed, some clearly, others as feelings or associations; picnics, walks, laughing, crying, lost, happy, sad.

As a history student at university I learnt that no one history is necessarily true (or, conversely, wrong). It is all in how we filter, interpret and edit the evidence. So, my memory, like history, is soft and pliable, delicate. We forget, remember and create our memories. And they are all different.

The places I remember can range from something as simple as a sports field or a park, to school buildings, churches and monuments. As time passes the places change and my memory of them, or the events surrounding them, become less and less reliable. While I have been working on this series I sometimes feel that I can remember things no one else can, and have forgotten things everyone else remembers. But my sense of be-longing remains as does my growing awareness of the cultural impositions on my memories.

There may be a time when there will be nothing left to say, or my memory will fade. Till then I will continue to try and remember, re-visit and document, my childhood memories. Or my memories of them.

All images are 6 x 4.5 cm C type hand printed contact prints.

Various Galleries 2009 - 2010